NCBA D2 World Series

A baseball fan’s dream, these collegiate clubs are ran entirely by the student-athletes, with no scholarships. They play to represent their school, for the love of the game, and to be a national champion.

What are collegiate club sports?

Clubs represent their colleges, but these students are on their own. Club managers/administrators say they are taken out of their comfort zone, learn leadership, time management, and organizational skills, while fundraising and advocating for their club. They plan schedules, transportation, training and conditioning, and playing time. Their success is determined as much by what they do off the diamond, as the talent they have on it.

Since 2015, Jaycee Memorial Ballpark in Pittsburg has been the home of the National Club Baseball Association (NCBA) Division II World Series, a double-elimination tournament featuring some of the top clubs across the country. The NCBA Division II consists of more than 130 clubs from more than 40 states.

No matter the age, I hope that what we’re doing can inspire players of all ages to play the game because you love it. Baseball shouldn’t be about scholarship money or even (high school) state titles; it should be about playing for the love of the greatest game ever made.

Nathan Grimaldi, PSU Gorillas Club Baseball, 2018 NCBA D2 World Series Runner-Up

What you need to know for 2019

Dates: May 16-21, 2019
Location: Jaycee Memorial Ballpark, 913 North Georgia Street, Pittsburg, Kansas

Regional Playoffs (May 3-5): See who’s fighting for a spot in the World Series

For bracket, full history, and more information, please visit https://div2.clubbaseball.org/worldseries/

Results of the NCBA D2 World Series at Jaycee Memorial Ballpark

Year: 2018
When: May 18-22, 2018
Participants: California University of PA, Metro State University, Pittsburg State University, South Dakota State University, San Diego State University, Siena College, St. Joseph’s University, Longwood University
Championship: San Diego State University vs. Pittsburg State University
Champions: San Diego State University
Tournament MVP: Ryan Chibidakis

Year: 2017
When: May 19-23, 2017
Participants: SUNY Binghamton, Slippery Rock University, Salisbury University, Florida Gulf Coast University, University of Windsor, Ohio State University, Texas A&M Corps of Cadets, Arizona State University
Championship: Slippery Rock vs. Windsor
Champions: Slippery Rock
Tournament MVP: Ryan Huey

Year: 2016
When: May 20-24, 2016
Participants: Penn State University (DII), Texas A&M Corps of Cadets, University of Tennessee – Chattanooga, University of Windsor, University of Maryland (DII), Slippery Rock University, University of San Diego, Saint Louis University
Championship: UT – Chattanooga vs. Saint Louis University
Champions: UT – Chattanooga
Tournament MVP: Ty Tucker

Year: 2015
When: May 15-19, 2015
Participants: University of North Carolina – Wilmington, Eastern Kentucky University, SUNY – Brockport, Penn State University (DII), Minnesota State University – Moorhead, Virginia Commonwealth University, Saint Louis University, Colorado School of Mines
Championship: Eastern Kentucky University vs. Penn State University
Champions: Eastern Kentucky University
Tournament MVP: Dusty Ridner