2018 NJCAA eTeamSponsor Football National Championship game

2018 NJCAA eTeamSponsor Football National Championship

Participating teams: #1 East Mississippi vs #2 Garden City
Location: Carnie Smith Stadium on the campus of Pittsburg State University in Pittsburg, Kansas
Kickoff: Thursday, November 29 at 7 p.m. CST
Tickets: Are available at www.pittstate.edu/tickets or by calling (620) 235-4796
Broadcast: Televised live on CBS Sports Network, the 24-hour home of CBS Sports, and is widely available through all major cable, satellite and telco distributors as well as via OTT streaming service providers YouTube TV, fuboTV, PlayStation Vue, DirecTV and Hulu

Purchase Tickets           For Fans           For Teams           For Media

Story Lines
* East Mississippi Community College (EMCC) is a four-time national champion, 2011, 2013, 2014 & 2017. Garden City Community College (GCCC) was national champion in 2016.
* East Mississippi has allowed only 11.4 points per game this season, the best in the NJCAA. Garden City has rushed for 307.6 yards per game this season, the best in the NJCAA.
* East Mississippi campus is about 500 miles southeast of Carnie Smith Stadium. Garden City campus is about 400 miles west of the stadium.
* East Mississippi Head Coach Buddy Stephens eclipsed 100 wins this season.
* Garden City Head Coach Jeff Sims was recently named the next head coach of Missouri Southern State University, an in-conference rival of Pittsburg State and is about 40 minutes southeast of Pittsburg. Since 1978, the NCAA Division II MSSU Lions football team is 4-37 against the PSU Gorillas.
* East Mississippi was featured in seasons 1 and 2 of the Netflix series, Last Chance U. The team featured in seasons 3 and 4 is Independence Community College, which is just over an hour west of where this year’s national championship game will be played. Independence Head Coach Jason Brown was briefly an assistant coach for Coach Sims at Garden City.

Based in Pittsburg, the Crawford County Convention & Visitors Bureau hosted the championship in 2009, when future NFL MVP Cam Newton and the Blinn (TX) Buccaneers beat Fort Scott (KS) 31-26; and, in 2010, when 12 future NFL players played in a 13-12 win for Navarro (TX) over Butler (KS). 2018 is the first of a three-year commitment for the NJCAA eTeamSponsor National Football Championship to be held in Pittsburg, Kansas.